Presbyterian Church of Mauritius ordains seven candidates to pastoral service

Published on 8 November 2021

GIS – 31 October 2021 : An ordination service of seven candidates to the pastoral ministry was held, this morning, at St Jean Church, Port Louis, in the presence of the President of the Republic of Mauritius, Mr Prithvirajsing Roopun.

The seven candidates are : Mr Jocelyn Dennemont, Mr Claude Martial, Mr Deyan Ristic, Mrs Chantal Sissace and Mrs Viviane Tessier as assistant pastors, and Mr Jocelyn Simon and Mrs Natacha Noyan as pastors.

Through these pastoral commitments, the Presbyterian Church is reaping the fruits of God’s grace and work in its midst. It is an encouragement and a hope that these candidates of all ages and backgrounds have heard God’s call in their lives. This ordination ceremony had for theme “With Christ in a New World”.

The Presbyterian Church of Mauritius is part of the worldwide family of Reformed Churches and has its origins in the missionary work started by Reverend Jean Le Brun since his arrival in 1814. It was established as an autonomous church by an Act of parliament in 1979.